Sidney & Diahann Tumultuous Affair…

Old Black Hollywood has always seemed so classy to me. The people, the music, the clothes, everything. And the fact that they had to deal with alot of racism just to get their chance to act. Who would have thought they had all this dirt going on behind the scenes?? I think I will cop Diahann Carroll’s new memoir. Its sure to be dripping with juice!
September 14, 2008 —

OSCAR-winner Sidney Poitier played his most dramatic role off-screen – that of a real-life, married cad who promised his mistress the moon, then cruelly double-crossed her.

In her new memoir, “The Legs Are the Last to Go,” Diahann Carroll – the Bronx-born beauty who made history as TV’s first black sitcom star in “Julia” – portrays Poitier as a heel who convinced her and first hubby Monte Kay to divorce after confronting Kay, saying he loved Carroll and was splitting from his wife to be with her. But Poitier then broke his promise, prompting her to date another man in frustration, Carroll charges.

She writes: “Sidney called me at my hotel . . . ‘You bitch, whore, tramp,’ he yelled. ‘I know he just left your bed. I won’t have you running around with other men. You belong to me!’ ”

Things got worse when, she says, Poitier told her he’d finally called it quits with his wife, Juanita Hardy, bought her a ring, and had her decorate a 10-room Riverside Drive apartment he’d bought. “I was only home a few days when he called to say his wife was having second thoughts. Our wedding plans would have to be postponed,” Carroll writes. “When the apartment was ready and I was about to move my daughter in with me, Sidney told me he didn’t want her there . . . He changed the locks so I couldn’t get in. Then he made me write him a check to offset his purchase and decorating costs. I did as I was told, submissive and desperate.”

Poitier, who had no comment on the book, would go on to wed actress Joanna Shimkus, while Carroll married three more times, her last husband being singer Vic Damone. “Sidney and I are now friends. That’s a lovely thing that comes as you age – forgiveness and perhaps a relaxing of standards,” Carroll writes. She notes that at the age of 73, “I’m told I look pretty good for my age, with, I am ashamed to admit, a little help from my plastic surgeon.” The book, from Amistad, hits stores next week.

 

One Response to “Sidney & Diahann Tumultuous Affair…”

  1. I discovered your “Sidney & Diahann Tumultuous Affair&” page and noticed you could have a lot more traffic. I have found that the key to running a website is making sure the visitors you are getting are interested in your subject matter. There is a company that you can get traffic from and they let you try it for free. I managed to get over 300 targetted visitors to day to my website. Visit them today: http://voxseo.com/traffic/

Leave a comment